Press Release

Speakers from DOD, DHS, U.S. Marines and Other Federal Agencies Confirmed to Present at DC Cyber Resilience Summit in March
Summit Theme is Securing Systems inside the Perimeter

Needham, MA – February 27, 2017 – The Consortium for Information & Software Quality™ (CISQ™), an IT industry leadership group that submits standards for measuring software quality and size, today announced its return to Washington, D.C. as host of its sixth Cyber Resilience Summit, which will take place on Tuesday, March 21, 2017 from 8:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Reston Town Center in Reston, Virginia. The Summit will bring federal government agencies, industry leaders and security experts together to cover critical software security and cyber resilience issues. Registration is open to the public and costs $95 USD. Government admission is complimentary using the code CSQVA27. Media should use the code TCVAP17 for complimentary registration.

CISQ is hosting this event in cooperation with the Object Management Group® and the IT Acquisition Advisory Council.

“The theme of this spring’s event is Securing Systems inside the Perimeter because securing the network is NOT enough. The most damaging of system failures and security breaches are caused by vulnerabilities lurking inside the network,” said event host Dr. Bill Curtis, CISQ Executive Director. Dr. Curtis will demonstrate the role that cyber resilience standards play in reducing risk and how they can help meet objectives for acquiring, developing and sustaining secure and reliable software-intensive systems.

“With the new Trump administration pressing to secure and modernize legacy systems, this is the seminal event to learn how,” said John Weiler, program chair from the IT Acquisition Advisory Council.

Dr. Dale Meyerrose, Major General, U.S. Air Force retired, will deliver the keynote “Software Defined Everything.” Dr. Meyerrose is the first President appointed, Senate-confirmed chief information officer and information sharing executive for the U.S. intelligence community.

Making its third appearance at the Summit is the Titans of Cyber panel, featuring the following experts who will share their front-line experiences and insights managing cyber risk:

  • Don Davidson, Chief, Lifecycle Risk Management & Cybersecurity/Acquisition, U.S. Department of Defense (moderator)
  • Sonny Bhagowalia, CIO, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Dr. Ray Letteer, Chief, Cyber Security Division, U.S. Marine Cops
  • Dr. Ron Ross, Fellow, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Rod Turk, Acting CIO, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Danny Toler, Deputy Assistant Secretary, CS&C, NPPD, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Other presentations on the agenda include: “Cyber Policy panel: Review the Presidential Executive Order for Cyber Security and IT Modernization Act”, “Use Case: Putting CISQ Standards into Action at Agile Speed” and “The Value of Security Benchmarks and Controls.”

To view the complete Cyber Resilience Summit agenda and to register, please visit

The Cyber Resilience Summit is a special event, co-located during the OMG® Technical Meeting from March 20-24, 2017 in Reston, Virginia. Attendees who register for the full Technical Meeting week do not have to pay the additional fee to attend the Summit.


About CISQ
The Consortium for Information & Software Quality™ (CISQ™) is an IT industry leadership group comprised of IT executives from the Global 2000, system integrators, outsourced service providers, and software technology vendors committed to introduce a computable metrics standard for measuring software quality and size. Founded by the Object Management Group (OMG) and the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon, CISQ is a neutral, open forum in which customers and suppliers of IT application software can develop an industry-wide agenda of actions for improving IT application quality and reduce cost and risk. CISQ is sponsored by Accenture, Atos, CAST, Huawei, and WIPRO.

Ann McDonough
+1 781-444-0404

Note to editors: For a listing of all OMG trademarks, visit All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.